Independent clinical evaluation of medical devices according to MDR (EU) 2017/745

Every manufacturer of a medical device has to demonstrate compliance with the General Safety and Performance requirements according to (EU) 2017/745 (MDR, Medical Device Regulation) both during the approval process as well as in the post-market phase. A clinical evaluation has to be created and maintained for each device that is CE marked as a medical device.

The clinical evaluation includes the analysis and evaluation of data of a medical device with the aim of demonstrating performance and safety in clinical use. Furthermore, the clinical evaluation examines:

  • Whether a clinical benefit exists and whether the manufacturer makes justifiable claims about the device in marketing materials.
  • Whether all existing risks have been adequately addressed by the manufacturer and whether existing residual risks are acceptable.
  • Which activities have to be planned and carried out within the framework of PMCF (Post-Market Clinical Follow-up) in order to address, for example, unexpected side effects or questions regarding safety and performance that have not been completely clarified.

The preparation of a clinical evaluation report according to (EU) 2017/745 and MEDDEV 2.7/1 Revision 4 places increased demands on resources and competence. The MEDDEV 2./71 Revision 4 and the MDR require

  • A sound plan for clinical evaluation
  • Increased quality of clinical data that can be used for conformity assessment
  • A very high similarity and sufficient access to the technical documentation to rely on data from equivalent devices
  • Comprehensive and cross-linked argumentation
  • Competent authors and reviewers

Learn more about each requirement here.

Are you unsure whether your data situation will be sufficient under the new regulation? You do not have time to set up and carry out a systematic literature search according to MEDDEV 2.7/1 Revision 4? We know the requirements and will be happy to help you plan, prepare or revise your clinical evaluation and the corresponding literature search, taking into account your individual priorities.

Curiously we are waiting for your enquiry.

a.naefnoSpam@axxos.noSpamch

Unabhängige klinische Bewertung von Medizinprodukten nach MDR (EU) 2017/745

Jeder Medizinproduktehersteller hat sowohl im Rahmen des Zulassungsprozesses, als auch nach Markteinführung, die Erfüllung der Anforderungen der grundlegenden Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen nach (EU) 2017/745 (MDR, EU Verordnung über Medizinprodukte) nachzuweisen. Eine klinische Bewertung ist dabei für jedes Produkt, welches als Medizinprodukt CE gekennzeichnet wird, zu erstellen und zu pflegen.

Die klinische Bewertung beinhaltet die Analyse und Bewertung von Daten eines Medizinproduktes mit dem Ziel, die Leistung und Sicherheit in der klinischen Anwendung nachzuweisen. Im Weiteren prüft die klinische Bewertung:

  • ob ein klinischer Nutzen vorhanden ist und ob der Hersteller in Marketingmaterialien ausschliesslich klinisch belegbare Claims zum Produkt macht.
  • ob alle vorhanden Risiken vom Hersteller adäquat adressiert wurden und vorhandene Restrisiken vertretbar sind.
  • welche Aktivitäten im Rahmen von PMCF (Post-Market Clinical Follow-up) geplant und durchgeführt werden müssen um bspw. unerwartete Nebenwirkungen oder nicht ausdrücklich geklärte Fragen zur Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit zu adressieren.

Die Erstellung einer klinischen Bewertung nach (EU) 2017/745 sowie nach MEDDEV 2.7/1 Revision 4 stellt erhöhte Anforderungen an Ressourcen und Kompetenz der Hersteller. Die MEDDEV 2./71 Revision 4 sowie die MDR fordern

  • Einen fundierten Plan für die klinische Bewertung
  • Erhöhte Qualität der klinischen Daten, welche für die Konformitätsbewertung verwendet werden können
  • Sehr hohe Gleichartigkeit und Zugang zu der technischen Dokumentation für das Abstützen auf Daten von äquivalenten Produkten
  • Übergreifende und vernetzte Argumentation
  • Kompetente Autoren und Gutachter

Lesen Sie hier mehr zu den einzelnen Anforderungen.

Sie sind unsicher, ob Ihre Datenlage unter der neuen Regulierung ausreichend sein wird? Sie haben keine Zeit, eine systematische Literatursuche nach MEDDEV 2.7/1 Revision 4 aufzusetzen und durchzuführen? Wir kennen die Anforderungen und helfen Ihnen gerne in der Planung, Erstellung oder Überarbeitung Ihrer klinischen Bewertung sowie der dazugehörigen Literatursuche unter Einbezug Ihrer individuellen Prioritäten.

Gespannt warten wir auf Ihre Anfrage.

a.naefnoSpam@axxos.noSpamch